Natural Practices to Heal Yourself, Your Community and Your World

I’m so excited but a little scared too.  May 28th and 29th I’m hiking 64 km of the Bruce Trail that runs in Ontario, Canada from Niagara Falls to Tobermory.  I am hoping it will be a time for me to disconnect from the outside world and to reconnect with my soul.  I want to hear her beautiful voice again and accept all her parts no matter what others may think.  And so into the woods I will go.

I am wanting to surround myself with wonderful women who inspire me as I prepare for this journey.  So as I prepare and figure out what to pack we gathered this past Thursday to make holistic Sunscreen that I will use on the trail.  If you would like some beautiful and healthy sunscreen for the times you’re outside all day here is the recipe. (otherwise it’s best to use light clothing and intermittent direct sun exposure to benefit from the vitamin D)

 

1/4 cup beeswax

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/2 avocado oil

1 tsp vitamin E oil

2 tbsp. NON nano Zinc Oxide powder

5 drops Lavender essential oil

5 drops Myrrh essential oil

Optional 5 drops Helichrysum essential oil

 

Pour the first 4 ingredients into a large glass jar and place the jar into a pot of water on the stove on medium heat.  As the ingredients warm they will melt and you can stir them together to mix.  Take the jar off the stove and let cool a few minutes before adding the Zinc powder (don’t breathe it in).  Pour into your desired container (I used glass canning jars), add the essential oils and stir once more.  It smells beautiful and without the zinc would be a great body cream!

I already slathered my arms and stomach with the leftovers that I scraped out of the mason jar 🙂

Check out my virtual Store (this is so cool!) where I have added all the products I like to use in my DIY projects and life in general.  You’ll get to see what I’m reading and what else makes me tick (let me tell you it’s quite the menagerie of things that don’t seemingly fit together!)  http://astore.amazon.ca/baldaithehe0a-20

And you can find my essential oils webpage here: http://www.mydoterra.com/lindseyecker

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

