Natural Practices to Heal Yourself, Your Community and Your World

The Power of The Physical

We often talk about the power of the mind and belief and for good reason.  Today I was really reminded about the power of the physical, of presence and touch.

Holding hands, hugs, a shoulder squeeze, playing footsies :), and kisses are just some examples of physical touch that can change a person’s day or outlook.  Somewhere I read that hugging for 6 seconds releases many benefits and helps to reduce stress and create stronger bonds.

My dad was feeling stressed this morning and so I told him I was going to hug him for 6 seconds and counted outloud.  Not only did we laugh but I noticed his tension ease a bit.  And I received the benefits too!  What an easy and great way to brighten a day.

This afternoon as I sat and meditated I asked that my touch be filled with positive purpose.  That my touch communicate love and peace.  I know from some of the stories you have shared with me that many of you have experienced a powerful touch at some point.  Whether it opened your eyes to a new way of seeing the world or helped you to feel like you were not alone.

I would love to be blessed again by hearing all of your stories of touch.  And I look forward to the new experiences I will have as I look for opportunities to use my purposeful touch.

Today’s Balance: My physical touch brings healing to everyone I encounter.

Blessings, hugs, and kisses to everyone today! – Lindsey

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

