Natural Practices to Heal Yourself, Your Community and Your World

Unanswered Prayers

I love music!  I have been listening to JJ Heller recently and her song “Your Hands” caught my attention. Here are the first few lines.

“I have unanswered prayers I have trouble I wish wasn’t there, and I have asked a thousand ways, that you would take my pain away”

Many times I catch myself wishing… Wishing for different than what I have. Whether it be taking away pain of some kind or physical changes or other desires I would love to have fulfilled.  This thinking is fun but I am realizing it takes me out of the present. I am often wishing to change the past, or wishing and dreaming about the future.  It creates the feeling that the present and what I currently have is not enough and often ends in some level of dissatisfaction.

I have asked a thousand ways! For all sorts of things. And I am realizing that the pain, or the difficulty, or the discomfort can be seen as a gift; a lesson that I can learn from and grow from.  That I can almost enjoy it (this takes conscious effort Lindsey!) 🙂 .  It allows me to go with the flow more easily.  When traffic is slow, or the customer service employee is in training, or the baby is crying, or the co-worker is difficult to work with.

In balancing we talk about transforming the messenger when there is a physical pain or discomfort of some kind but we cannot begin to transform and release the pain until we have learned the lesson or the information behind it.  So today let’s acknowledge the “pains” instead of trying to wish them away.  Let’s live in the present and learn the lessons in order to transform those moments into wisdom.

I recognize the lessons in my life as gifts that bring me closer to the divine.

I will be away again up north, spending time with nature.  I hope that during these breaks you get a chance to read or reread previous posts and start conversations or discussions through your added comments.

Blessings, Lindsey

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

